9 comments on “10 Books You’ve Never Read (But Will Probably Lie about at Some Point):

  1. I read 100 years of solitude bc Sandra said it was eddie’s favorite book. It took me roughly 100 years & I hated a good portion of it.

  2. You forgot ” The Old Curiosity Shop” by Charles Dickens, heck, throw in ” David Copperfield” while your at it …

  3. I have read the whole Bible, the whole OT three times through, once with a series of commentaries in about 20 volumes, and no, my degree was in something else. Queer trying to make myself righteous. It did not work!

    • I feel your pain. I was raised religious and went through that phase myself. I ultimately rejected it all after years of philosophizing and soul-searching, but still read the bible for academic purposes. And
      I have friends and family in the clergy (religious left, fortunately), and respect people of belief. Love and light to you!

  4. I tried to read 100 Years of solitude and hated it. Wasn’t able to finish even though I must have been well over 200 pages in. Just couldn’t put anymore with this magic realism shit.

    Read maybe the first 30 pages of Infinite Jest. Liked the bit where he describes trying to quit drugs. totally gave up after that. Bought and tried to read The pale King after that. Book is 600 pp, I read half.

    I ike the last page of Ulysses and that’s it. the rest is unreadable.

    The Name of the Rose was impossible to read as well. I felt like I was reading pages that simply weren’t registering. I must have skipped the pages through the whole tihng, I swear I had no idea what I was reading. Didn’t understand one single page of the book.

Leave a comment